Moosend gives you full control over your email marketing mailing lists. You can add a mailing list, segment it or duplicate it without it having an effect on the total number of your recipients. You can also rename or even delete a mailing list at any time.
However, if the mailing list you intend to remove has been associated with a campaign (re: if you have previously sent out a newsletter to this list) deleting it will have some effects that you need to keep in mind:
- Your personalization tags will not work anymore. This means that if you have previously sent out a campaign to the subscribers of the specific list you now want to delete, using personalization tags (e.g. their first name, email, forward link etc) those will not be working properly if any of your recipients happens to reopen your newsletter after you have deleted the list which he belonged to
- All reporting associated with the specific list will stop and will also be deleted from your Moosend account
It is highly recommend that before you choose to delete any of your mailing lists, you first make sure to export any reporting that you consider necessary and that you do not want to lose.