In Email Marketing, targeting the right audience is of the utmost importance. Therefore, you should create as efficient campaigns as possible, making sure you don't lose any of the recipients that are really engaged with the content of your campaigns, while also ensuring that those who aren't, can easily unsubscribe from future newsletters.
In order to achieve that, Moosend provides you with the brand new feature of choosing between a single opt-out or a double opt-out process by setting up the method that your recipients can use to unsubscribe from your newsletters if they wish to do so.
Let's see how you can do that by following the steps below:
A. Setting up the single opt-out or double opt-out settings
1. On your Dashboard page, click on the Account settings option located in the drop-down menu on the right top corner.
2. Scroll down to the Unsubscribe Type area and choose one of the unsubscribe types available:
- Single opt-out
This option allows your subscribers to unsubscribe from your list immediately by clicking on the corresponding link.
- Double opt-out
This option allows your subscribers to confirm that they actually want to opt out from your list by redirecting them to an unsubscribe page first. Through this additional step, they have the time to think it over before removing themselves from your list, offering you this way the ability to minimize accidental unsubscribes.
3. When you are done, tap on the Save button.
B. Unsubscribing when the single opt-out is set up
If your subscribers want to unsubscribe from a list that has the single opt-out activated, all they have to do is click on the unsubscribe link inside your newsletter. A message will appear informing them that they have been removed from your list and will no longer receive your newsletters.
C. Unsubscribing when the double opt-out is set up
If your subscribers want to unsubscribe from a list that has the double opt-out activated, a notification will appear when they click on the unsubscribe link inside your newsletter, informing them that by clicking unsubscribe they will be removed from your list and will no longer receive any of your newsletters. If they finally choose to proceed, all they have to do is click on the Unsubscribe button.
After doing so, a message will appear informing them that they have been successfully removed from your list and will no longer receive your newsletters.