In email marketing, it is important to target the right audience. You must create efficient campaigns that let you keep recipients that are really engaged with the content of your campaigns, while also ensuring that those who aren't, can easily unsubscribe from future newsletters.
Moosend provides you with options for single opt-out or a double opt-out process. These give your recipients options on how to unsubscribe from your newsletters.
A. Set up the single opt-out or double opt-out
- In the top navigation bar, hover your mouse over the Account icon, and click Settings.
- In the menu on the left, click Set your account settings.
- Scroll down to the Unsubscribe settings section and select one of the options:
- Unsubscribe users from my account and never send to them - list members who unsubscribe from your email list are set as unsubscribed from your entire account.
- When unsubscribing users from a list send to them from other mailing lists - list members who unsubscribe from a specific email list are unsubscribed from that list only. You can still send campaigns to them using other email lists they are subscribed to.
- In the Unsubscribe Type section and select one of the unsubscribe types available:
- Single opt-out - allows your subscribers to unsubscribe from your list immediately by clicking on the corresponding link.
- Double opt-out - allows your subscribers to confirm that they actually want to opt out from your list by redirecting them to an unsubscribe page first. Through this additional step, they can confirm they want to remove themselves from your list, minimizing accidental unsubscribes.
- Click Save.
B. Unsubscribing when the single opt-out is set up
If your subscribers want to unsubscribe from a list that has single opt-out setting activated, they can click the unsubscribe link inside your newsletter. A message appears informing them that they have been removed from your email list and will no longer receive your newsletters.
C. Unsubscribing when the double opt-out is set up
If your subscribers want to unsubscribe from a list that has double opt-out setting activated, a notification appears when they click the unsubscribe link inside your newsletter. By clicking Unsubscribe, they are removed from your list and will no longer receive any of your newsletters. A message appears informing them that they have been successfully removed from your email list and will no longer receive your newsletters.